CLOS TRIGUEDINA

Magic in the soil

CLOS TRIGUEDINA
Magic in the soil

Situated in the heart of the Cahors wine region, near Puy l’Évêque to the south-west of the town of Cahors, the estate nestles amongst the meanders the Lot River and covers some 70 hectares in the lush, green Lot Valley. Its soil of clay-and-limestone and siliceous clay, similar to that found in the famed Pomerol wine region, is ideal for wine production of Classed Growth status.

Jean-Luc Baldès is fortunate to have his vines planted over four communes: Puy l’Évêque (the capital of Cahors wines), Vire-sur-Lot, Floressas and Touzac on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th terraces. These plots have the potential for the production of top quality wine.

The vine grower’s task resides in respecting the special qualities of the soil, the immediate environment and the local climate to create a harmony between man and nature. This work must also respect the requirements needed to acquire the Haute Valeur Environnementale certificate (level 3).

Jean-Luc often says that «the magic of Clos Triguedina lies in the richness of its soil, giving me the opportunity to use my creativity in wine making to the fullest.» He adds that: «Our best working tool is the soil! There are no good wines without good grapes and no good grapes without good care of both the vines and the soil.»

He is inspired by Burgundy: through his studies in that region and through his Burgundian wife, Sabine, who was born in Beaune in the centre of the Côte d’Or wine producing region. Jean-Luc seeks constantly to bring out the various characteristics of the grapes in each plot, covering the 2nd, 3rd and 4th terraces.

CLOS TRIGUEDINA

la magie des terroirs

CLOS TRIGUEDINA
la magie des terroirs

Situé au coeur du Vignoble de Cahors dans un cadre verdoyant à côté de Puy l’Evêque au sud-ouest de Cahors, le domaine est niché entre les méandres de la rivière Lot et s’étend sur 70 hectares. Son sol argilo-calcaire et argilo-siliceux, similaire à la composition du sol de Pomerol est tout indiqué pour créer de très grands millésimes.

Jean-Luc BALDES a le privilège d’exploiter ses terroirs uniques sur quatre communes : Puy l’Evêque (capitale du vignoble de Cahors), Vire sur Lot, Floressas et Touzac, enserrées dans les méandres du Lot, des terrains de prédilection pour l’élaboration de Grands Vins, en 2èmes, 3èmes et 4èmes terrasses.
Tout le travail du vigneron consiste à respecter le caractère et l’identité des terroirs, dans un souci d’harmonie parfaite entre la terre et les hommes et ce dans le respect du cahier des charges rigoureux de la certification exigeante Haute Valeur Environnementale Niveau 3.

Jean-Luc a coutume de dire : « la magie du Clos Triguedina, c’est la richesse de ses terroirs qui me permet de donner libre cours à mon imagination de vigneron ». Et d’ajouter : « Notre meilleur outil de travail, ce sont nos terroirs ! Pas de bons vins sans bons raisins et pas de bons raisins sans bons soins à la vigne et au sol ».

Inspiré par ses études en Bourgogne et par les origines bourguignonnes de son épouse Sabine née à Beaune au cœur des crus de la Côte d’Or, Jean-Luc BALDES privilégie l’approche parcellaire et cherche en permanence à exprimer toutes les palettes de ses terroirs en 2èmes, 3èmes et 4èmes terrasses.

Cartes des terroirs :